Экофорум  негосударственных  некоммерческих  организаций  Узбекистана

Награды ООН за глобальные действия в области климата для людей, борющихся с изменением климата



The United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) is seeking nominations for the 2021 UN Global Climate Action Awards.

Spearheaded by UN Climate Change’s Momentum for a Change initiative, the UN Global Climate Action Awards shine a light on the most innovative, scalable, and replicable examples of what people around the world are doing to tackle climate change.

Focus Areas

The following three areas of focus:

        Climate Neutral Now, recognizing efforts by individuals, companies and governments that are achieving real results in transitioning to climate neutrality.

        Financing for Climate Friendly Investment, recognizing successful financial innovations for climate change adaption and mitigation.

        Climate Leaders, recognizing transformational efforts by governments at all levels (national, provincial, state, city, town) that are moving the needle on climate change.


Award winners receive the following benefits package:

        Engagement with policymakers

        Recognition by the UN Climate Change secretariat;

        Funded attendance to UN Climate Change Conference (apart from winners under the Financing for Climate Friendly investment category, which need to be self-funded to attend the Conference);

        Opportunities to present work to policymakers during the UN Climate Change Conference.

        Public relations support

        Concentrated media engagement effort prior to and during the UN Climate Change Conferences, including placement of opinion pieces and earned media;

        The on-going digital campaign, including social media, email marketing, and promotion on UN Climate Change website. Marketing support Promotional videos; Dedicated webpage on the UN Climate Change website; Interactive annual reports; Professional photography.

Why apply?

        Selected activities under each area of focus will be showcased at a series of special events during the United Nations Climate Change Conference in Glasgow, Scotland (COP 26) in November 2021.

        Additionally, winning activities will be highlighted through various media channels, providing a unique chance to gain international visibility and recognition.

Eligibility Criteria

        Organizations, communities, cities, businesses, universities, governments, and others that are taking concrete action on climate change can apply to have their projects recognized by the UN Climate Change secretariat as a 2021 winning activity.

        In order to meet the basic eligibility criteria, the activity must:

        Address climate change mitigation or adaptation;

        Be already implemented, or in the course of implementation;

        Be scalable and/or replicable with potential for long-term impact;

        Be innovative and/or demonstrate the potential for long-term transformational change;

        Deliver verifiable social and environmental benefits;

        Not be registered or have intentions to register as a clean development mechanism (CDM) or joint implementation (JI) initiative in the next two years.

Evaluation Process

        Through a rigorous evaluation process, their Advisory Panel will select a small number of activities from the total pool of submissions.

        Winning activities are shining examples of successful mitigation and adaptation actions that serve to inspire and increase momentum for further action on climate change.

        Winning activities are chosen on the basis of predefined selection criteria which, in addition to specific thematic criteria, emphasize innovative partnerships as a way to achieve long-lasting, transformational change. Winning activities must also be replicable and scalable.

Deadline: 30-Apr-21 For more information, visit https://momentum.unfccc.int/