Экофорум  негосударственных  некоммерческих  организаций  Узбекистана

Награды ЮНЕСКО

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) is calling for applications and nominations for the 2018 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes, which this year will award outstanding programmes and individuals who promote literacy around the world within the theme of ‘Literacy and Skills Development’.

Since 1967, UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have rewarded excellence and innovation in the field of literacy. Over 485 projects and programmes undertaken by governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals around the world have been recognized. Through these prestigious Prizes, UNESCO seeks to support effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literate societies.

Prize Categories

§ The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (2 awards): Established in 1989, with the support of the Government of the Republic of Korea. It gives special consideration to the development and use of mother-tongue literacy education and training.

§ The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards): The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy, established in 2005, with the support of the Government of the People’s Republic of China. It gives special consideration to literacy amongst adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth, particularly girls and women.

Prize Information

Each of the five prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma and US$20.000.

Eligibility Criteria

§ Member States and International Non-Governmental Organizations which maintain official relations with UNESCO are invited to solicit and submit nominations for the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes.

§ Institutions, organizations and individuals promoting literacy through effective and innovative projects or programmes.

§ Eligible programmes or projects who have a proven record of innovative work in the field of literacy for at least three years.

§ Programmes/projects that have not been awarded the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes in the past five years.

Selection Criteria

§  Relevance to the themes

§ Relevance to individuals and societal needs and robustness

§  Quality of teaching and learning

§  Impact

§  Innovative features

§  Sustainability

Applications For Nominations: 5 June 2018

Entities to Submit their Nominations: 17 June 2018

For more information, please visit UNESCO International Literacy Prizes.